Cloudy day

May 4, 2006 at 1:23 pm 8 comments

I am having a bad mood day. You know one of those days when nothing really is wrong… but nothing seems to be quite right either?

I’ve been asked to go to the Bahamas through work for some big meetings that are going on there. Now that’s really cool – i’ve never been there and it looks that the way flighs work out, we’ll have a free day there at the end to enjoy. However, the accompanying problem is that my Jamaican passport expires… in a month. So I went this morning to try and renew it. And walked into the place and left. There were over 200 hundred people queued outside. They had yet to get in the building! So I turned around and left – I’ll see if I can get it done through the Ministry some how instead…

Then I went to look about my car insurance. In the last year, I have gained a year’s no claims, I have passed the magic age of 25 and my car value has decreased. So I thought my insurance premium would decrease too. Well, yes it did. By less than 5%. Huh??? Tiefs!!!!!!!

On the way back to the office, I decided that I had earnt a frapuchino – there is one place in Kingston that does them really well and it was on the way back from the insurance office. So I tried but could find no parking anywhere near the place.

Then the computers in the office are working against me. The printer is printing everything funny. And the common area keeps crashing.

All in all, not a happy bunny.

And to make it worse, the get over man is off the island so i can’t even go and see him after work and get spoilt!

So now I am sat at my desk, trying to decide on some happy music to listen to – any suggestions?

Entry filed under: On being a working girl, On dating and relationships or lack there of, On going to foreign, On life as it is only in Jamaica, On nothing in particular.

Lost! Tagged!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mad Bull  |  May 4, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    Yes, I suggest you click here and go listen to a nice likkle ting from PartyInc…

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  May 4, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Of course, its good to right click on the link above and select to open the page that loads in a new browser window so you can see everything and navigate anywhere…

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  May 5, 2006 at 9:53 am

    Thanks MB – it’s now Friday morning – and that is working to get me in the mood for the weekend now

    Reply
  • 4. Beaver  |  May 6, 2006 at 5:47 pm

    Sorry you’re having a tough day !

    To add to your misery, you’ve been TAGGED !

    Reply
  • 5. macoumere  |  May 9, 2006 at 11:04 pm

    your life must be so well padded that this makes you have a bad day. Be thankful you have a job, a government one at that, which means you can go to work as close to noon as possible, take a 3-hour lunch break, send email, update your blog, pay your credit card bills, make personal phone calls, and still not do a damn thing that you are being paid to do. And you want happy music??? Try Bob Marley; he’s been digested enough that it should feel like pablum, just the way you like it. I don’t think I’ll read your blog anymore. It’s making my mean side come hurling out of the closet…

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  May 10, 2006 at 4:15 pm

    Gee, I wish my government job was like that – I’m regularly in early, leave late, work weekends and take work home. All of this with no overtime pay and a significantly lower salary than i would earn if I was working in the private sector – where i could easily find a job. Yes, I update my blog in the day – but that is usually while i am eating my lunch at my desk as I can’t really get away from the office.

    And I do acknowledge macoumere that my blog is pink and fluffy. And that is becuase it is my blog. It is my escape from daily reality. I work hard, I do my best to deal with injustice, I make active choices in my life related to this. And if I want to have somthing pink and fluffy that makes me feel better, then I am more than allowed to do so. And if I choose to spend my hard earnt small salary on going out drinking sometimes, then so I shall – it is my choice. And yes, I would like a manw ith a social conscience. That’s why I want ‘someone who cares about the world and its issues.’ Unfortunately most men who actively claim a social conscience tend to be self-righteous, pompous and boring – rather like you I suspect.

    I don’t have to defend muy choices to you – if you have a problem, go elsewhere. Write your own blog.

    And yes, I would like a manw ith a social consceience/

    Reply
  • 7. cream  |  May 11, 2006 at 11:56 am

    KG, you can feel as low or as high as you want! It’s YOUR LIFE, girl!

    Mad Bull, I really enjoyed that link! Music to cheer KG up!

    Reply
  • 8. Yamfoot  |  June 7, 2006 at 7:48 pm

    that’s right. you tell macoumere. sod.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

