Do all men cheat?

April 28, 2006 at 2:29 pm 8 comments

As, according to ‘sky writing’, this is a ‘Sex and the Cityesque’ blog, I thought that I should report on yesterday’s lunch conversation at my office.

Being a mainly female office, with most staff members in the mid 20s to mid 30s in various states of relationships, we were discussing men. And the perceived lack of suitable varieties of men that all the single girls hold to be true.

As one of the single girls at the table (well, close enough!), I was one of those promoting the view that it is very hard to meet a nice guy and I was informed by the non-single girls that this is because my expectations are too high. I queried this and was informed that it was the part of my expectations that said ‘I expect a man to be faithful to me’ that is asking too much.

Huh? Now, I know some men cheat. And yes, some women cheat too. However, I am not willing to accept this as being normal and a pre-requist for a relationship. If accepting cheating as normal is what is needed to get myself a boyfriend, then I guess I’ll remain single – and enjoy ‘non-relationships’ instead!!!

Men out there – please reassure me – you can be faithful? I am not really asking too much??!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Carnival! Lost!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. juliana  |  April 29, 2006 at 9:13 am

    No, I don’t think you have to accept that it’s normal. I wouldn’t! But then again I can’t meet a man either. I don’t know, maybe we’re old fashioned, but with so many diseases being spread and everything, I think men and women should still remain faithful.

    Glad to see you had fun at Carnival!

    Reply
  • 2. Beaver  |  April 29, 2006 at 5:23 pm

    Go Girl! I’m blessed with a boyfriend who is faithful to me despite extensive travelling, and has been for now over 3 years.

    THEY EXIST !!!

    (Fyi – i updated)

    Reply
  • 3. cream  |  May 1, 2006 at 5:21 am

    Men are faithful if they’re in a happy relationship!
    So, the relationship has to always be evolving and growing at a comfortable pace for both parties.

    KG, I love your CARNIVAL and you look like you’re having a great time!

    Reply
  • 4. Kingston Girl  |  May 1, 2006 at 9:10 am

    Thanks – it’s good to know that others share my view and that I am not odd by expecting fatihfulness!

    Beaver – you are a lucky girl!!

    Reply
  • 5. Mad Bull  |  May 1, 2006 at 9:19 am

    Expect faithfulness yes. They say if you aim for the stars you will fall on the tree tops, but if you aim for the treetops, then you fall pon dutty (you fall on the ground) 😉

    Reply
  • 6. owen  |  May 2, 2006 at 7:34 am

    hey, chances are if you go for the guy that you like istead of the one that likes you, hes going to cheat. Its human nature.

    Reply
  • 7. Neon  |  May 5, 2006 at 10:06 am

    I think that not all men cheat , but most do. But as was said before it is human nature to cheat , the real question is why?
    Happy men still cheat, i think for most of us guys out there its an adventure, I myself have never cheated. But at the same time ive been offered outside of my relationship sex and denyed it. I attribute this to self-control which alot of people lack.
    Meanashell.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 8. iriediva  |  September 19, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    i agree with mad bull…who i chose to interpret as follows: u can always aim for the man who doesnt but they are few and far between so hopefully you at least get one who tries hard not to

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
April 2006
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

