The Inauguration

April 20, 2006 at 9:07 am 5 comments

After such a long absence (been busy, work is mad, get over man taking up more time than intended, intense gym sessions to prepare for sunday’s road march, internet been misbehaving…) I feel that I owe you all something. So, in response to popular demand, I will now present a review of the Inauguration of Hon. Portia Simpson Miller, the first female Prime Minister of Jamaica. If the internet will let me, I will even include photos!!!

Traffic going there was hilarious. SUVS queued for miles around. Everyone thought that they were important and tried to put on their flashing lights and develop a new lane between the other cars to get there faster. Chaos.

I felt cute – I had dressed as I thought fit (and was looking elegant, smart but not over the top! At least that what I think – and I’m attaching a photo to prove it!), and, most importantly, I had an invitation with a special coloured band on it that meant that I was due a reserved seat. Unfortunately, Mr Bruce Golding, Leader of the Opposition, and I had the same problem – we could not find our seat. But I have some manners, I decided not to cause a fuss and went and sat down in an unmarked seat. As a result, this is how far from the front I was – you can just about make out Portia giving her speech at the podium. It wasn’t a bad view… as long as the lady in the huge yellow hat didn’t move too much – that hat could block out everything!

Soon after sitting, we realised that there was a bonus of having sat in that area – we were sat just behind Beenie Man (a dancehall star) and his fiancé, D’Angel. That was exciting as she had on an ‘H’outfit’ and we got to watch the line that grew trying to get his signature! I decided against taking a photo as I was scared of his entourage! However, I did manage to get a photo of this – what I thought won the ‘Best Hairstyle’ award for the day.

The ceremony was remarkably short and not too heavy winded which impressed me, which meant we were able to get onto the most important business quickly … the food. Now imagine the scene – 10,000 people, sat in the sun, watching a formal ceremony, waiting for the food. As soon as some people realised that the end of the ceremony was approaching, they made their move. Without any sense of shame, they up’d and went. And went at speed – they were as close to runnning as their high heels would let them!!

As I was with a group of young people, of course we had to go and investigate the food ourselves – but we did manage to wait until the ceremony was over! There were about 10 different tents for the food to disburse the crowd – and the food was good! The deserts were even better… worth the 20 minute wait! But, of course, you did have people pushing in, craming their plates sooo full that things were falling off and gerenally getting too excited by the food. it reminded me of an article that had appeared in the paper that morning with instructions on how to behave, including ‘do not over cram your plate- eat before you go and remember that there will be lots of others who want food as well. Do not use the toothpick in public – and if you have to, take it out of your mouth when you finish.’ Some people would have done well to read that article!

So all in all, a good time was had by all. But I wasn’t one of the very lucky ones who had a ticket to the ball that evening, so I’m sorry but I can’t report on that event!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica, On politicing and current events.

The Big Day Carnival!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cream  |  April 20, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    KG, looks like you had a great day! You look great!
    But that orange hairstyle, man!

    I love the paper’s lesson in behaviour! “…take it out of your mouth when you finish…”
    Only a Jamaican paper would know that Jamaicans and Africans in general love to play about with toothpicks!

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  April 23, 2006 at 11:08 am

    Yeah, I agree, you looked very nice. Probably it was a good idea not to photograph Beenie and D’Angel, given the entourage and also the fact that you can get pictures of them, a dime a gazillion over at yardflex.com.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  April 23, 2006 at 4:28 pm

    You looking good gurl.

    I had no idea that they had food to feed the 10,000!

    As for toothpicks….hate them!

    On hairstyles…I had a patient recently with an almost blood red wig. After she left, I got up to some mischief and whispered to one of our Cuban clinic nurses…..”When you going get a hairdo in one o dem colors?” She replied….”Doc. I soon reach fifty. When me fifty, me get well bashy!” We both had a good laugh.

    Reply
  • 4. Guyana-Gyal  |  April 26, 2006 at 9:30 am

    Waow, you look hot.

    As for the food, haha, I wonder how many went for food or for the occasion only.

    The red hair? I know someone who puts a different perspective on it all, calls it ‘costuming.’–>

    Reply
  • 5. Wisugar  |  May 15, 2007 at 7:29 am

    By the time I got to the food a church group had devoured it like a plague of locusts. I was so far in the back, every photo was of peoples head backs. Still I was happy to be there

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
April 2006
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

