The Big Day

March 30, 2006 at 12:18 pm 8 comments

Despite the overcast skies in Kingston, there is a buzz around the place. Maybe it’s just because I work for a Ministry where speculation is rife about who our boss will be as of tomorrow but people are buzzing. And not too much is being done either at work… everyone is too busy discussing what they will wear this afternoon!

Why? Because it is Sister P’s inauguration this afternoon! I was feeling special as I have a ticket with my name on it for this event… until I discovered that over 6,000 people have been invited! But I am still pleased to be going – I can’t wait to see all the bling outfits in the crowd.

Confusion is everywhere – what exactly does a lounge suit mean for the ladies? The options that my office is going for range from formal evening ball gowns to business suits to anything bling. Apparently we could alternatively wear our national dress, but I am of the opinion that national dress doesn’t really suit me.

So I’ll settle for what my etiquette books tell me – in late afternoon / evening, lounge suits mean cocktail dresses for women. So a simple cocktail dress will be worn by me. But my camera is in position in order to take photos of all bling outfits and the excitement!

PS Yes Owen, you are right. The girl in the background on tv talking enthusiastically and laughing was indeed me. I didn’t realise the cameras were there – otherwise I would have tried to behave with more decorum!

Entry filed under: On being a working girl, On life as it is only in Jamaica, On politicing and current events.

Important issues in the Caribbean The Inauguration

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. D.  |  March 30, 2006 at 1:24 pm

    I can’t imagine such a crowd…but enjoy it and let us have a photo of thou in cocktail wear!

    Reply
  • 2. cream  |  March 31, 2006 at 11:45 am

    We’re in the presence of Fame, aren’t we now!
    Rubbing shoulders with gorgeous Portia! Go, girl, go!

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  April 2, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    Hope you had fun! Give us a couple of pictures nuh man! Oh, and I hear that it was you who was given Bruce Golding’s seat! You who mek the Leader of the Opposition have to miss the event! You special eeeh?
    Hmmm… looked at another way, I guess one could draw the conclusion that Bruce is nothing special.

    Reply
  • 4. Beaver  |  April 4, 2006 at 2:54 am

    Sounds fun ! “Lounge suits”? Never heard of them before. Thanks for educating me :o)

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  April 4, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    Was it good? Gosh, that sounds exciting. Hehe, I’d be thinking about what to wear too. C’mon, tell us everything, who did what, who wore what, what food was there, where was it held.

    Reply
  • 6. juliana  |  April 4, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    yeah, maybe a cocktail dress would be best. But i really have no idea. Just have fun!

    Reply
  • 7. Scratchie  |  April 8, 2006 at 9:57 pm

    how was it?….any photos?

    Reply
  • 8. Stunner  |  April 14, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Hope you enjoyed yourself at the cocktail party.

    Share the photos! Share the photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

