Change of colours

February 24, 2006 at 8:18 am 5 comments

I went to my hairdresser last night, for a little trim. Now when I was little and we first moved to Jamaica, my dad used to cut my hair. Then I grew a bit and found this lady who was accustomed to cutting Indian hair and used her for many years. She wasn’t great but was an improvement over most Jamaican hairdressers who are obviously more used to cutting hair that curls naturally than hair that is straight. So that meant that all through my teenage years, I had a hair cut, not a hair style.

Off I went to live in foreign, and with that came hair styles! Hairdressers who were used to my kind of hair. I got used to it and when I came back to Jamaica, I made an effort, asked around and found someone who I really like.

So I went to her last night (hey, a single girl needs a hairstyle!) just for a trim. However, we got carried away, not so much on the cutting but more on the colour.

So I am now looking very blonde! It’s said that blondes have more fun so I guess I’ll have to give this a go and see what happens…

But in the meanwhile, I am expecting to here lots of blonde jokes from people over the next few days so I thought I’d start with one myself …

Why do blondes wear green lipstick?

Because red means stop.

On that note, I’m off – have a good weekend! I know I’ll try and have an interesting one!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Jamaican wives? Sister P

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stunner  |  February 24, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    The last time I changed my haicut was back in Utech. Men don’t really get to have fun with hair styles. Hope you enjoy your weekend and get to party at Yesterday tomorrow!…that sounded funny!

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  February 25, 2006 at 1:28 am

    I finally found the BEST hairdresser in Jamaica, she used to work in New York, she can do all kinds of hair.

    Hehe, I love blonde jokes.

    There’s a place called Yesterday now?

    Reply
  • 3. Sunshine  |  February 28, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    Hi Kingston Girl-LOL “red means stop”. Girl, enjoy yourself.

    Reply
  • 4. CoolDestiny  |  March 1, 2006 at 8:36 am

    I just love doing my hair blonde and wish I could do all of it instead of just streaks and patches … unfortunately, I would be suspended from work for that so … streaks it is!!

    Reply
  • 5. Mad Bull  |  March 12, 2006 at 9:48 pm

    Suspended for doing your hair blonde? Where do you work, CD, JDF? My gosh! Sho red, green and gold braids are out too, I guess? 😦
    Stunner, you are wrong. Men have so many hairstyle opportunities, bald, extremely short, long, bald/short back and sides with long top, ras, chiney bump, with carvings such as the nike swish… I could go on! Oh, and we haven’t gotten into the gay men’s hairstyles yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

