Recovery Plan 2 (and random office thoughts)

February 11, 2006 at 3:11 pm 7 comments

When a girl is feeling down, shopping is always a good solution! So on thursday night, I allowed myself to be diverted from my plan of a gym session* and went to a friend’s house for an evening of home shopping. We have this man who goes shopping abroad and bring things back for us to buy from him. He’s great – he gets to know you, your sizes and your tastes fairly quickly and always comes up with something good. My star purchase this time was a little t-shirt. A pretty red colour. With big gold writing on it which says ‘I’M SMART, I’M SINGLE.’ It just had to be got, it made me smile and will make me laugh when I next wear it. In other work related work, apparently once again Jamaica is doing too well. Another international donor is withdrawing funding, this time for population planning, because we have achieved our targets. I have heard from so many places over the last year that international funding is being cut for Jamaica because we are not poor enough. While I know that compared to some places, we are very wealthy, at the same time, we still have major issues to deal with. Oh well, we have to just keep trying with whatever we have. * Yes, am still going to the gym! Yamfoot – haven’t discovered Pilates yet but have been to Club Mix which is great fun! Getting in the mood for carnival…

Entry filed under: On being a working girl, On dating and relationships or lack there of.

News Broadcast Happy Valentines Day!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. juliana  |  February 12, 2006 at 10:11 am

    Oh, I know exactly how you feel. I too couldn’t hate my ex because he was such a nice guy, but like you said it’s always for the better.

    So where did you get that shirt? I want one now too!

    Best of luck with everything. Us single girls need to stay strong and positive.

    Reply
  • 2. Yamfoot  |  February 12, 2006 at 10:34 pm

    Monday and Wednesday evenings at 7:30 and Friday at 5:30pm just before the Vibes Mix or whatever that class is that Andro teaches.

    I’m a morning attendee, so I go to the Tuesday and Thursday morning 10am classes and the Friday afternoon one and Saturday too. Good stuff. Works wonders for your mid section and your legs. I told the teacher the other day, she should do a DVD so when people like me travel, I can have her travel with me!

    Reply
  • 3. Guyana-Gyal  |  February 13, 2006 at 7:48 am

    Ah, I love those people who bring things to the home to sell. It’s like those long ago days my mother tells me about.

    But them women fool-fool ee? Look how they run after your boss like he is some catch. Yes, I would rather be single. I heard some women on the radio the other day, saying that we women need to have more pride, look after ourselves, not run after the man dem so.

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  February 13, 2006 at 7:58 am

    Careful you doh scorch the credit card shopping…but enjoy nevertheless….

    Reply
  • 5. Sunshine  |  February 14, 2006 at 10:44 am

    Hi Kingston Girl-Yes, shopping does have it’s many benefits. It must be nice to have your own personal shopper.
    Jamaica not poor. Now that’s a good one. We’re just bankrupt. Where does the internationl fund get their information?
    Pilates-need to join a gym that offers that.
    Happy Valentine’s Day.

    Reply
  • 6. cream  |  February 15, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    I think the t-shirt should’ve said: I’M SINGLE COS I’M SMART!

    Reply
  • 7. Gela's Words  |  July 4, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Ironical isn’t it? We’re doing so bad here, but not bad enough to warrant x amount of aid. Was working with a USAID project that got aborted because of the funds being diverted else where.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

