Recovery Plan 1

February 7, 2006 at 2:15 pm 9 comments

Chocolate, red wine, crying etc are all very well and necessary, but I always find that something more major is needed for me to make process in my recovery. So I have embarked on the first major part of the process – plan a holiday!

Much as I love Jamaica, there are some times when it feels very small, and now is one of them. So this afternoon, I am off to beg some days off work from my boss so that I can run away. If days off are not forthcoming, I will threaten him with a nervous breakdown etc until he gives in.

So I am making my plans to run away. Run to New York is the plan. I have a wonderful friend – a text message to england saying ‘X and I have broken up, need to get away – are you up for a girls’ weekend’ was sufficient to get the reply saying ‘tell me when to meet and when and I’m there.’

So we are meeting in the middle, off to new york in the middle of march. Timing is important – has to be close enough that you can get excited looking forward to it but far enough away that you will be well on the way to recovery and won’t waste the time being miserable.

The location is also important – new york, home of sex and the city, around st patricks day – lots of cute drunk men, good shopping, some culture and good bars. Just what is required. I also haven’t been to New York since I was about 8 – a repeat visit is well overdue.

So all I need to do now is find a flight (90% done), get time off work (not started!), find a hotel in Manhattan (my dad enjoys looking at travel review websites so might give him that task – unless any of you have a suggestion?) and dig out some winter clothes!

The only problem is that I keep getting excited and wanting to call the ex and share my excitment with him – and then I remember that I can’t do that any more. At which point, I have to go and look at some new york photos online to try and make me smile again.

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On going to foreign.

Change of status News Broadcast

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beaver  |  February 8, 2006 at 2:43 am

    NY is a great choice !

    I love the big apple. I don’t know what your budget is, but hotels in NY are horribly expensive.

    If you’re looking to spend lots of time out of it anyway, go to the Y. It’s cheap (80$), yet comfy, and very conveniently located.

    Hotels are also pretty tough to come by, so make your reservation ASAP!

    Hang in there!

    Beav’

    Reply
  • 2. Sunshine  |  February 8, 2006 at 11:19 am

    Now that’s the spirit. Have a blast in NY and doan let the vacationing stop there after you return. Hang in there, it will get better.

    Reply
  • 3. Francine  |  February 8, 2006 at 1:38 pm

    sounds like the perfect get away!

    Reply
  • 4. Guyana-Gyal  |  February 9, 2006 at 5:20 am

    Darn slow isp keeps me from commenting when I want to.

    I like your attitude…and March is not far, so git asking your boss šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Mad Bull  |  February 9, 2006 at 8:03 am

    Have fun… oh, wait, heres my shopping list!!

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  February 9, 2006 at 8:55 pm

    NY is not my place at all…but have fun nevertheless.

    Reply
  • 7. Yamfoot  |  February 11, 2006 at 12:21 am

    make sure you catch the sales!

    ps. I hope you’re still doing the gym.

    Reply
  • 8. Kingston Girl  |  February 11, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    I am still managing the gym – have just discovered Club Mix which is great fun!

    I’ll need to find the sales with the size of my hsopping list and those everyone is giving me… so mad bull, what was it you wanted ?!

    Reply
  • 9. Michoko  |  March 10, 2006 at 5:58 am

    Lucky you ! Haven’t been there since year 2000, I love NY ans especially South Manhattan with the old harbour and Brooklyn bridge.
    Enjoy !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

