I hurt

January 18, 2006 at 9:51 am 7 comments

This is NOT a new year’s resolution, but I joined the gym this week and went for my induction yesterday.

The reason I need the gym is that I currently spend too much time sitting on my derriere in traffic and not doing anything active. In foreign, I used to do stuff like going swimming and going for walks. And life in general was more active there – my job involved getting out more and little things like I used to walk to the pub for my alcohol – here I drive everywhere or get driven!

As a result, my clothes have been getting steadily tighter since I have been back and I realised that I needed to do something before the trend became irreversible.

Then there were 2 motivating factors that have meant that I have decided to do it now:

1. One of my friend’s wants me to jump in carnival here this year and I know that currently I wouldn’t be able to jump all the way to the end of the route, and also that the cute outfits wouldn’t look quite as cute on me as they are supposed to!

2. One of my best friends in getting married in England later this year and I am going to be a bridesmaid!! And as I won’t be able to try on a dress until close to the day, I couldn’t face the embarrassment of getting to England and discovering it is too tight – I’d rather it be too big and then they can take it in!

So off I went last night. I had decided which gym to join solely on the basis of how close it is to my office – I have to make it easy for me to go otherwise I know I’ll miss. So 6pm found me at Spartan, ready to be inducted. I thought it would be a nice gentle walk through – this is what we have, this is how we use it etc. Boy, was I wrong. It seemed to be about pushing me as hard as possible until I dropped.

On the way home last night, my arms hurt trying to turn my car – which is a small car with power steering. And this morning, I am discovering muscles in my shoulders that I never knew even existed. Oh well, hopefully I will be able to see a difference at some point before too long – I just have to keep going!

Entry filed under: On (not) being a gym bunny.

The weekend Pink is good

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Serendipity  |  January 18, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    I so feel you girl. I actually contemplating going to the gym myself just because I will be going to Miami in a couple of weeks. Plus to I was all caught up on this really fine guy and wanted to just wow him but now I realize it was a waste of time. I do hope you get in shape though fort he wedding. Or maybe you can find a new pub to wlak too.

    Much Love

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  January 18, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Lawd, this reminds me that I have to start walking again!!! I am getting lazy and a bit of pudge has developed on my tummy.

    Reply
  • 3. Ale  |  January 19, 2006 at 12:13 am

    congratulations! muscle pain is always great fun- so hillarious, i used to have a car with power steering, sometimes the person sitting in the passenger seat had to help me turn the wheel! oh the fun days

    Reply
  • 4. CoolDestiny  |  January 19, 2006 at 9:32 am

    The muscle pain will be gone in a couple of days so it’s only for a time. Have fun and hope you reach your goal.

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  January 19, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    CD is right. Best of luck with the gym…I need to do supem mislef.

    Reply
  • 6. Sunshine  |  January 22, 2006 at 10:37 am

    Congratualtions Kingston Girl-regardless of your excuses to start exercising, keep it up. I’m telling you this seeing that I need to get my butt to the gym today-Sunday.

    Reply
  • 7. Yamfoot  |  February 11, 2006 at 12:17 am

    Welcome…from a fellow Spartanite. Try the Pilates classes with Susan. Now she is who will work muscles you never knew you had!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

