Office Nightmares

January 5, 2006 at 3:47 pm 6 comments

My office was nice and quiet this morning until a group arrived for a meeting. They had to keep on passing through my office to get to where they needed to be. And it seemed like they kept on forgetting things as they had to come back and forward over and over again.

Which wouldn’t be too bad – I like a bit of distraction! However, each time they came through, they forgot to shut the door. So my a/c had to go into super-loud overdrive to compensate. And then I’d realise and get up and shut the door. And then back they’d come again and leave it open. Grrr. After this had been going on for about an hour, I decided that the nice polite ‘please shut the door behind you’ wasn’t working. So the next person who came through was given the message in a loud and angry tone.

But it made no differnce. The door was left open again. At which point I gave up. I decided to leave the door open, turn off the a/d and have some nice natural air.

At which point, they all suddenly got the message and started to shut the door behind them. So now it is getting very hot and stuffy in here.

I feel like I have become trapped in some office nightmare. I need to go and find chocolate… or maybe just go home for the rest of the day…

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Various disjointed thoughts I love sunshine!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beaver  |  January 5, 2006 at 6:59 pm

    Don’t you hate it when they do that?

    I usually set up in conference rooms, being an invading auditor. No A/C keeps it nearly cool enough for me.

    There’s also the occasionnal 1h1/2 long loud morning chat (sometimes in foreign language) in the corridor right outside your office.

    Does wreck the concentration. I’m a big fan of earplugs and shut doors.

    Mostly because otherwise, I’d join the fun and not get anything done !

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  January 6, 2006 at 7:19 am

    Try not to make things like that bother you too much Kingston girl. There is more in life to fret about.

    TGIF! (Hopefully you won’t be at the office over the weekend.)

    Reply
  • 3. Sunshine  |  January 6, 2006 at 8:04 am

    Hi Kingston Girl-I know what you mean about persons kinds infringing upon your space. I’m very fortunate to have an office a part from everyone else with my own door that I keep closed. Have a great weekend and doan forget to PARTY hardy!

    Reply
  • 4. Kingston Girl  |  January 6, 2006 at 10:02 am

    Er, will NOT be in the office over the weekend!!! Will instead be starting by having a few celebratory drinks tonight (reason for celebration – have survivied the first week of the work year?? that’s enough reason for me!) and then we will see how it goes!

    Reply
  • 5. Mad Bull  |  January 8, 2006 at 10:26 am

    Good for you, KG…

    I myself went for a few celebratory drinks after work, then off to a sumptuous dinner at Bayside Cafe (a Indian restaurant) with the Missus and the pickney.

    Reply
  • 6. Guyana-Gyal  |  January 9, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    If I was having a grumpy day I’d probably stick a sign on the door. Which they would ignore anyway. grrr.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

