Various disjointed thoughts

January 4, 2006 at 4:04 pm 5 comments

Christmas Parties
I’ve been to lots of parties this Christmas. Big ones and little ones. Loud ones and even louder ones. Ones with lots of drink and ones with lots to eat and drink! Several of these have been held at private homes, so my heels have sunk into lots of different grassy patches. But I managed not to fall over on any staircases!

Christmas parties amuse me because they are filled with people who are no longer living in Jamaica. And every year you have the same conversation. ‘I’m planning on coming home this year’ they say. And then next year, you see them again. Yup, still planning.

You can spot them as well. They look so pleased to see everyone! And they dress differently, can’t put my finger on it – maybe something to do with pumps, but they look different. And their hair is different – they have long hair which they wear loose which is great in the winter but often doesn’t look as good by the end of an evening in Jamaica!

These Christmas parties mark the start of the soca season in Jamaica. Everyone starts to jump and wine. And starts talking about going to Trini… and then i become like one of those Jamaicans abroad ‘I’m planning on going this year’ and next year, I’ll still be planning!

School Reunions
I had a school reunion this holiday. 10 years since we left school. So we all gathered at the appointed time and place to inspect each other. and it was enjoyable. Most people look the same but some tried to confuse us. They brought outsiders to the event – fiancees and such people. One girl in particular I spent a long time looking at and trying to work out who she was before someone explained that she was a fiancee so I didn’t have to pretend to know her!

But people are doing well. Doing things ranging from PhDs in neuroscience to tv presenting to futures trading on wall street. But the sad part was that I estimate that only about 1/3 of us are still living in Jamaica. These are people who have had one of the best high school educations available in Jamaica and are now contributing to another country.

The joke at the end of the evening was that I went to another party with my bf. This was an invitation party and we were at the gate when I suddenly heard people calling out to me and asking if I was on the list, and if so, could I get them in. I looked and it was some people I used to go to school with who’d also been at the reunion. I was on the list, but couldn’t take anyone in so I had to leave them outside.

The amusing bit is that I was thinking how times have changed. In school days, these were the kids that were in on every party and would never need me to get them in anywhere. Instead, I’d have been the one who would have had an early curfew so wouldn’t have attempted to go to the party!

New Years Eve
I started the new year right – I went to church with my bf! Haven’t been on new years eve for ages so it was nice. Afterwards, I went home, put on a dress and heels and went out drinking and dancing. I’m one of those girls who likes to dress up from time to time. Not all the time, but I figure new years is one of those occassions.

So I went out in my dress and ridiculous heels (hey, I’m short, I need help!) and danced away. And then, when I figured most people were to drunk to notice anything, I headed to my car and got out my comfie flip flops and went back and was able to smile the rest of the night. All the way through until the sun rose on 2006.

And it was a wicked party. The theme was ‘come as what you perceive yourself as being.’ Now, that’s too complicated for most of us to think about. But some people went all out. I was amused by one lady who was dressed as a french maid, hmmm. There were also a couple of guys who came in their sports wear – unfortunately for their perception to become reality, they looked like they needed some more exercise!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

I’m back! Office Nightmares

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scratchie  |  January 5, 2006 at 5:15 am

    All the very best wishes Kingston Girl for a bright peaceful, prosperous 2006.

    Reply
  • 2. Sunshine  |  January 5, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Hi Kingston Girl-You’ve certainly given me a chuckle regarding your description of fareing revelers and local ones. That is a true observation-us from farign jus look different and is not jus de high heels. LOL
    Happy New Year to you.

    Reply
  • 3. cream  |  January 5, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Welcome back, you party girl!
    Looks like you had a great festive time!

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  January 8, 2006 at 10:27 am

    Keep the bloggage going, Girl. I enjoyed reading this post.

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  January 9, 2006 at 9:00 pm

    This took me back to Ja. I enjoyed every moment reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

