Things to be pleased about…

December 2, 2005 at 3:38 pm 4 comments

After my post the other day about what I wanted to have achieved before my high school reunion that I’ve not quite reached yet, I thought I’d be positive today. (After all, it’s Friday. And if you can’t be positive with a weekend ahead of you, when can you be positive?)

So, although these aren’t necessarily things that will all impress my old school mates from my slightly overachieving high school, here are 20 things that I’m impressed with about myself. And I’ll remember them when I am surrounded by all the people with the perfect job, house, husband and figures!

  1. I managed to pick myself up and move abroad to university when I didn’t really know anything about what I was doing at the age of 17. And I survived!
  2. In fact, I more than survived – I had a great time!
  3. I have learnt how to accept a compliment gracefully – I no longer go bright red and stutter ‘oh no, not me.’
  4. I had a great job which I paid well and that I loved in England, but I had the guts to hand in my notice and head back to an uncertain future in Jamaica – just because I thought it was time to come home.
  5. And that it was time to be nearer my family – after arguing with my brother for 18 years, we now get on. So when he came back and left me alone in England, I knew it would be my turn soon. I get on with and like my family – I’m pleased about that.
  6. Despite the fact that we hardly spoke for 7 years, I’ve managed to return to having a great friendship with my high school best friend now that we are in the same country – and she’s shared all her friends with me so I now have a great group of people here.
  7. I have a very sweet bf. He’s not the richest man around, he may be too old for me, but he makes me pancakes on Saturday mornings. And he gives me butterflies in my tummy.
  8. I have a cute car. It’s not big. It’s not bling. But I think it’s cute and I love it and that’s what matters to me.
  9. I don’t have to wear suits to work everyday. Or stockings.
  10. I managed to discover the joy of cheap flights and have many fab memories of lots of European cities. And I discovered that a nice hotel isn’t important – in fact, the worse your hotel is, the more time you spend away from it!
  11. I’ve seen elephants in the wild. I went to Africa and fell in love with the place. Please can I go back tomorrow? Or if Africa is too far for tomorrow, Barcelona would do instead.
  12. My job might not be glamorous, or incredibly well-paid, but it is MY job. I got it through my experience and education – not through who my parents know.
  13. And it’s in the field I want to be in and I feel that I can make a difference through it. So I’m proud of it.
  14. I got my masters degree when I was 21.
  15. I wear contact lenses. So I am no longer the girl with braces and glasses that I was at 16…
  16. I know how to salsa dance. And for a white girl, I think I can move my arse well!
  17. I still keep in touch with several exs. Which is good – after having highs and lows with people, I’d hate to lose contact with them.
  18. My English friends liked me soooo much that I’d not been back in Jamaica for a year before they came to see me. (I am sure that they canted to come and see me and not just to have a trip to Jamaica….)
  19. I am willing to try any food at all. And I have developed a dislike for fussy eaters. If you won’t try food, then what else won’t you try?
  20. And I am also willing to try all alcohol once. But I now know what I like and I don’t care what anyone thinks when I order it.

As it is a Friday, I am now off to enjoy my number 20!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

A walk in the north Yorkshire moors Broader than Broadway…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cream  |  December 2, 2005 at 6:08 pm

    KG, that was a good insight into your life.
    England is great but I am sure that Jamaica must be amazing. You left a good life here and returned to your family. That takes guts!

    And you are lucky to be happy in Paradise!

    Reply
  • 2. damanimichael  |  December 2, 2005 at 8:40 pm

    how about for every first friday of the month everyone put up 20 things they feel positive about…

    great post! life is not about the achievements or the failures but the journey that takes us there… i am glad to see u understand that very well.

    Nuff blessings.

    Reply
  • 3. juliana  |  December 3, 2005 at 8:59 am

    I never responded to the post you made on my blog about blood pudding. My mom eventually told me that that’s what she thought the blood was used for. But like in your #19, I guess I’d be willing to try it. I like to try all foods too and dislike fussy eaters as well.

    This was a nice post. Infact this is the first time I’ve been to your blog. I’ll come back again in the future.

    Reply
  • 4. Guyana-Gyal  |  December 7, 2005 at 10:06 pm

    I like your independence and honesty and not following the herd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2005
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

