Graduation Music

November 28, 2005 at 3:24 pm 2 comments


I went to the launch of a new university last week that I am doing some teaching at. As well as the launch, it was also a graduation ceremony for some of our students who’ve got their degrees.

You know that bit in the ceremony when the graduants’ names are called one by one? And they have their special moment when they walk across the stage, shake hands and get their degree? And they usually play some music in the background?

Well, there was a nice pianist who played the music. And he started off with stuff like ‘I believe the children are our future’ and ‘Did you ever know that you’re my hero.’ You know, the kind of supposedly meaningful music that is supposed to make you feel happy and proud and inspired? Anyway, I kinda tuned the music out. Until that is I heard some chords coming into my brain, and realised that he was playing the theme tune from ‘Titanic.’ Hmmm, graduants sinking in cold water, freezing to death. Nice.

And I thought that was bad, until he followed it with ‘Candle in the Wind.’ So now they are having their life blown out in a cruel manner too early.

I hope our graduants don’t follow his advice too closely!!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Things to be happy about Christmas soon come!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Guyana-Gyal  |  November 29, 2005 at 9:02 am

    Haha, that reminds me of a J’can woman [Irish background] telling me of the days of silent movies in Jamaica, and the pianist would play the music on stage.

    Well, there was one scene in the film where the heroine was dying. Tragedy, tears, drama, et al.

    In the middle of that the pianist on stage heartily plunked into, “Oh yessir we have no bananas…”

    Reply
  • 2. Gela's Words  |  July 8, 2006 at 3:27 am

    haha. Ah boy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

