More extremes in Kingston

November 14, 2005 at 3:36 pm 2 comments


On Saturday night, I went with some girl friends to a fundraiser for the Jamaica Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (JSPCA). I have a lot of respect for the JSPCA, I think they do some excellent work and we’re always tried to get rescue dogs and cats from there when we want animals to give them a home.

Their fundraiser was a wine and cheese party, with an animal fashion show. It was hilarious! and a bit odd… You see, in my opinion, dressing a cat in a frilly outfit with a big glittery collar is cruel – cats don’t like that!!! And they are supposed to be preventing cruelty..

But it was an event and a half. Apparently lots of society people were there – I say apparently as I don’t know the society people too well so I am taking my friend’s word for it.

So there on the runway were all these skinny girls with their tiny, pure bred perfectly manicured fluffy dogs, who’d had their coats done in the air conditioned tent. All dressed in pretty things.

And I laughed to myself, thinking that my animals who I’ve got from the JSPCA would have caused a riot at the show! They would have refused to wear their outfits, they’d have run off the catwalk and towards the food.

And I did also think that it would be good if some of the people who were at the show thought about it later, and thought that next time they want a pet, maybe they could rescue one of the JSPCA animals and give the money they would have spent on the pure bred to them.

But I suppose that to them attending a wine and cheese party and having your picture appear in the social pages of the newspaper seems a much better way of giving support.

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Gas station strike The Jamaican Police Force

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Guyana-Gyal  |  November 15, 2005 at 5:15 pm

    Some folks should’ve dressed up as animals and modeled.

    I agree, why don’t they adopt animals from the JSPCA?

    But I guess the wine and cheese party does raise awareness about the work of the JSPCA.

    Reply
  • 2. Chandis  |  May 7, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Yeah this may be years later since it is 08 now but I attended these events as well in 05, 06, 07 and participated in the last two with my dogs who are all rescue/adopted dogs. People do adopt dogs from the JSPCA and we actually have dressed up like animals as well. Also the animals who participate have a blast and are treated very humanely mine love wearing outfits equally as well as hunting rats, pigeons, ground doves, chasing away theives and running arund in the woods (we live in bush) SO DON’T BE SO QUICK TO JUDGE.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

