Gas station strike

November 9, 2005 at 4:03 pm 7 comments

I had been out of my office for a few minutes and came back to find 2 missed calls, 1 voice mail message and a text message on my cell phone and 1 message on my office voice mail. All from my bf. So I checked them thinking oops, what’s up. And something was up – all the gas stations in Jamaica are going on strike for at least 2 days.

So I followed his advice and rushed out of the office to fill my tank. I knew full well that if I waited and went after work, the queues would be lots worse and several places would have sold out.

So I arrived at the gas station and saw a queue. Well, actually 3 queues. So I picked one and sat. And waited. And waited. And then after 10 minutes I realised that another queue had started. And as there was a taxi man at the front of it, it was pushing into my queue successfully.

So I sat and waited. And then another queue started.

And then two queues merged, along with 2 dented bumpers.

And ten minutes later, the same thing happened again. With 2 more dented bumpers.

By the time I got through (which involved nearly crying at a man who was trying to push infront of me and shaming him into letting me go), there were at least 6 dented bumpers that I’d seen, 8 different queues and I’d wasted 40 minutes of my life.

And remember that this was at a quiet time of day! Next time, I’m taking a gas strike as an official public holiday.

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Hambrelhas More extremes in Kingston

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ri  |  November 10, 2005 at 7:56 am

    Hopefully you got the gas, and not dented bumpers.

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  November 11, 2005 at 8:15 pm

    I think I read the strike was called off after all?

    After all this wasted time.

    And dented bumpers in a queue!

    Reply
  • 3. Stunner  |  November 11, 2005 at 9:28 pm

    I saw the gas stations myself, the were all jammed up. Good thing I had enough gas in my tank.

    Reply
  • 4. damanimichael  |  November 14, 2005 at 3:09 pm

    i kinda feel bad cause i got a call early in the morning! feel like i shoulda put it on ma blog! nex time (u know there will be a nex time)

    Reply
  • 5. Kingston Girl  |  November 14, 2005 at 3:14 pm

    so you mean you could have saved me a lot of time and hassle… grrrr!

    at the end of this 30 day period or what ever it is when they are supposed to come up with a solution and it all happens again, let us know early please!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Anonymous  |  May 3, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    http://www.nextgasstrike.com

    next gas strike day is May 19th

    Reply
  • 7. Harry  |  May 3, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    cool
    nextgasstrike.com

    http://www.nextgasstrike.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

