Hambrelhas

November 8, 2005 at 2:02 pm 6 comments

I was sitting in my office one day and the office cleaner came around. Someone had sent her down a barrel from foreign so she was selling some things to make a little money. I was busy so she left the bag with me, along with a piece of paper and the instructions – take what you want, write your name next to whatever you have take on the peice of paper and pass the bag onto the next person.

So I looked through the bag and saw an umbrella and I had just mislaid mine so I decided to take it. I looked on the peice of paper, skimmed it and couldn’t see an umbrella written anywhere. So I looked again more carefully.

And there it was, right underneath the ‘Man Spray’ it was.

Hambrellha

(For the non-Jamaicans out there, it is common for people to add ‘h’ to words when they are trying to talk properly – and also to lose ‘h’ from some words!)

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Sorry Gas station strike

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. CoolDestiny  |  November 8, 2005 at 6:41 pm

    Poor ting.

    ztzwfzte

    Reply
  • 2. De Immigrant  |  November 8, 2005 at 11:03 pm

    I guess that was a very good effort at spelling it the way how she said it!

    Reply
  • 3. Serendipity  |  November 9, 2005 at 3:06 am

    That was absolutely hillarious. Although it can be a pet peeve for me, the adding or removal of the “h” is also quite funny at times. I wonder what the “Man Spray” was?

    Reply
  • 4. Kingston Girl  |  November 9, 2005 at 9:09 am

    It appeared to be some sort of male cologne – something along the lines of ‘Kalvin Cleiny’ or ‘Eau de Hissey’

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  November 9, 2005 at 10:30 am

    Now you can replace the hambrellha that you lent the girl ha few weeks back to keep ‘er ‘air dry when it was raining.

    I love the things people do to language, it’s colourful, lively, fun.

    Reply
  • 6. Gela's Words  |  July 8, 2006 at 3:32 am

    You know, this is sad, but hilarious never the less, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

