Car Window Cleaners

October 25, 2005 at 3:37 pm 6 comments

Like any big city in the non-rich world*, Kingston has its fair share of boys who wash your car windows. Now sometimes this is good – when my window is very dirty, I’m pleased to have someone wash it and to give them some change.

However, most of the time I don’t have change or I don’t want it washed. I just want to be left alone. And this is where the problem arises. The boys don’t understand the word ‘NO’ when it comes from a young smallish white female on her own. They understand it a bit better when i have friends with me. And they understand no best of all when I have my bf with me (who is neither smallish nor white).

However, on my own, they flock my car and will not go away. Now the thing about this that confuses me if that if I had said no, do they feel that by hanging around I am likely to change my mind? Wouldn’t they be better of going and trying another car – like they do when my bf says go away? And I know I’m white – but I drive a small, fairly inexpensive car. Looking around, there is nearly always a big SUV around, or a BMW or something – go and harrass those rich people instead!

*compromise world – I don’t like ‘developing’, I quite like Third World if it used in the original sense of third way between capitalism and communism, but it is usually meant in the sense of third as in not number one or two but bottom of the pile which i don’t like, and majority world just sounds a bit too trendy for me!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Gambling! Use of technology

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 007 in Africa  |  October 26, 2005 at 9:03 am

    Congrats on getting the new job!

    Reply
  • 2. damanimichael  |  October 26, 2005 at 1:49 pm

    how about having a change place to put all change, so nex time dem see you give them from there. but the time after that look to the same place and show them that its empty and say ‘sorry, can’t do it today’. at the end of the day, jus remember that they need it more than you so try your best…

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  October 26, 2005 at 1:53 pm

    Yes, I know they need it more than me. However, I choose to give my money to people who need it more in other ways – like by giving to organisations who do work with the poor through education and skills training. That way at least I know it will be used in a way that can make a difference. And I also ‘give’ by working in a field that I believe makes a differnce to people’s lives – when I could be earning double my salary in the private sector…

    Reply
  • 4. damanimichael  |  October 26, 2005 at 6:17 pm

    understood. agreed. appreciated.

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 27, 2005 at 1:15 pm

    Once, I looked into the eyes of one of those boys, and it broke my heart.

    Here, beggars come to our gates, right at our homes.

    I like the word 3rd World, I don’t see it as ‘inferior’…I see it as another dimension, rich, bubbling with another culture.

    Reply
  • 6. Serendipity  |  November 9, 2005 at 3:19 am

    I completely understand. I encountered the same thing when I visted home this summer. They seem to prey on the innocent looking ones. mek it worse yu brown! Its really harassment when you think about it. A “no” really should be enough, especially when you have no need for their services. One had the nerve to pressure me to clean my windshield…in the rain!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2005
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

