Irie Country

October 3, 2005 at 4:03 pm 3 comments

We stayed in an all inclusive in MoBay this weekend. I’m not usually keen on them – I like having more choice of places to eat etc, so haven’t stayed in one in ages. But hey, I take what I’m given!

It was strange. I kept forgetting I was in Jamaica. Ok, maybe the swim up bar had something to do with that, as did the strength of the mojitos they served there, but I really kept forgetting where I was.

We arrived at dark. You drove down a road outside of mobay without many lights. I woke up in the morning. Had pancakes for breakfast. The guests were all from foreign. The staff had foreign accents. And foreign phrases – how often do you hear a Jamaican really saying things are irie?

And then in the evening, I went to the free show in MoBay. And suddenly I was back in Jamaica.

If that’s what people what for their holidays, then fine. So be it. It’s not me however. And I don’t think they should be allowed to say that they’ve been to Jamaica if they haven’t left their hotel all week. Maybe we should invent another name and another type of stamp for their passports.

So next time you arrive in Immigration in Jamaica, you have a choice – you can either get your stamp for Jamaica (the real one) or Irie Country! But anyone who has only been to Irie Country cannot claim to have really visited Jamaica.

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Out of town… A unwelcome visitor

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 4, 2005 at 3:19 pm

    St. Elizabeth, go to St. Elizabeth for real Jamaica, people. Where the fishermen are on the beach at nights, and loads of fishing boats, and you can buy fresh fish. You can rent a Jamaican house too, and have your own place.

    Or go to Portland and stay in an old, old, old guest house [I swear a duppy was in the bathroom with me once.]

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  October 7, 2005 at 11:35 pm

    Well, I love the all inclusives… they make for a nice break from the real Jamaica… Guyana Girl, the real Jamaica is multifaceted indeed. You will see it in deep rural St. Elizabeth, you will see it if you drive along the hip strip late in the nite in Mo Bay, and you will also see it on Jaques Road, Mountain View…. the good, the bad, and the ugly!

    Reply
  • 3. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 9, 2005 at 6:10 am

    Yes, that’s true, Mad Bull, there’s no *one* reality. Reality is the good, the bad, the ugly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2005
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

