Hairstyles

September 29, 2005 at 11:24 am 4 comments

Some of you might know that Jamaica has been under a weather warning for the last few days. There is a nice big wet tropical wave sitting over the island. So it’s not the typical Jamaican rain we’ve been getting – but rather it’s the grey sky and wet all day thing that’s been going on.

Now, I don’t think of myself as a super practical person. I can’t change a tyre. I wear heels even though I know I’ll be standing all day.

I am also not overly into hairstyles. I deliberately have one that I can wash myself easily and that doesn’t require much attention. I live in the tropics, I want to be able to go swimming without having to consider a trip to the hairdresser afterwards.

Yesterday, I gave a girl from work a lift up the road. She started to complain about the rain – she had just been to the hairdresser. And she had got a hairstyle. The long, flowing locks kinda style. The miracle grow shampoo had obvious done it’s work.

But the hairstyle can’t get wet. Otherwise ‘bad things will happen to it’. (My mind wandered at that point… bad things… maybe it would start attacking people like gremlins did when they got wet…)

So I was kind. I lent her my umbrella. (She with the hair didn’t think to carry one… she was just fortunate that my mum is more practical than me and had given me an umbrella to keep in my car)!

So this morning, it was still raining. So I arrived in work wet from the walk from the car park.

But at least the hairstyle was still dry!!!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Mice Out of town…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nandi_pandi  |  September 30, 2005 at 3:24 pm

    You def sound like me. I not too fussy over my hair…just keep it curly. But if I go to the hairdresser to get it done…best believe seh me and the girl you work with will be both under that umbrella.

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  September 30, 2005 at 6:59 pm

    Moral of the story. Always have two brollies. Or three 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Japronika  |  October 1, 2005 at 11:32 pm

    just showin luv…

    Reply
  • 4. Serendipity  |  November 9, 2005 at 3:44 am

    What? a hairstyle in weather like that? she’s an amateur!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2005
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

