Customer Service

September 26, 2005 at 11:28 am 5 comments

This weekend, I decided that I had to finally deal with it. I had to bite the bullet, face the music.. whatever you want to call it.

My cell phone was dead. I could no longer pretend that it was just the area I was in, or that the battery needed charging, or whatever other excuse I was making for it. It didn’t work.

So, being a typical girl, I took my friends along for support and we went shopping on Saturday. Also being a typical Kingstonian, one of my friends works for a large corporate organisation and hence gets a nice discount at certain cell phone shops, so we headed there.

We arrived in the shop. I got through the door… just… before all the sales assistants pounced. I thought, well, I know what I want so if someone helps me this shouldn’t take long.

hmmm … a sales assistant ‘helping’ … forgot those words don’t really go together!

I pointed at one phone I liked that was on display…
Sales: ‘Sorry, that one is not in stock. ‘
Me: ‘Ok, what about this phone?’
Sales: ‘Oh, that one isn’t in stock either.’
Me: ‘Well, when will it be available’
Sales: ‘I don’t know about that one – hopefully soon’
Me: ‘Soon as in a week, a month or a year’
Sale: ‘I can’t say’

After this happened in relation to about 6 different phones, I eventually found one that was in stock and that I liked! It’s a camera phone and I’ve never had one before. I’m not overly technological, but usually I can follow when someone explains something.

Me: ‘How do you downlaod the photos from this?’
Sales: ‘What you want to do?’
Me: ‘How can I get the photos I take on here onto a computer?’
Sales: ‘You want the pictures on a computer?’
Me: ‘Yes’
Sales: ‘Why?’
Me: (thinking … what? and you work here? none of your business!) (also trying to avoid looks on friends’ faces!) Well, that’s one of the good things about using a camera phone isn’t it? You can use the photos elsewhere?
Sales: ‘Oh, me just use it to take photos and show to my friends on the camera.’

At which point I gave up. I decided that I would do another typical female thing and ask my boyfriend to sort it out for me later.

Why do shops bother with sales assistants when they are so useless? I’ll give the girl some credit – she did manage to charge me the right amount and use the machine for my multi-link card… but please, to whoever manages that shop – either train your staff or keep them tied to the desk, out of harms way!!!

PS The boyfriend has been busy so I still don’t know how to download the photos!

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Why does… Mice

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Guyana-Gyal  |  September 27, 2005 at 2:44 pm

    The girls who become salesgirls didn’t do well in school. If they did well, they wouldn’t be sales girls. Are they trainable?

    Reply
  • 2. damanimichael  |  September 27, 2005 at 5:27 pm

    the phone came with a cd and a cable – once you put the cd in it’ll come up and you install whatever programmes you see on the screen…

    then it probably came with a usb cable (flat with a hollow opening) plug it into the back of your computer somewhere you’ll find it…

    after that plug your phone in, open the progamme you just installed and figure out the programme just like how you figured out this blogger…

    you’ll be fine.

    regards

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  September 28, 2005 at 10:18 am

    Thanks for the advice. The phone did come with a cd – but not a cable… and apparently to buy one is like j$8,000 – huh???

    I tried to be creative … but the cable for my digital camera doesn’t fit the phone!

    Oh well, will figure it out soon…

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  September 28, 2005 at 9:46 pm

    J$8000! Wow! Double wow! Tell me the type of phone. I will check the cost here. I just bought a cable for my phone, don’t remember what I paid but it wasn’t near that!

    Reply
  • 5. Irie Diva  |  September 18, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    HAAAAA! i jus want to be rude and say “that’s where a manual come’s in handy!” lol i’ve worked in a call centre environment wit those annoying questions flying my way day by day so excuse my sarcasm 🙂

    oh i jus came across your blog and i find it interesting so yeah i’m going thru all ur old stuff…feeling violated? 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2005
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

