Vibes

September 18, 2005 at 2:56 pm 2 comments

Went with the BF to see ‘Vibes’ over the weekend. Had seen it advertised on tv and it didn’t look overly good. But was pleasantly surprised when we got there.

I know this is becoming a reoccuring theme of my blog but I was amused by one of the differences between the theatre in England and here – the level of audience participation. Unless it is a children’s show, the audience might laugh and clap, but neither anything more in England. Here, everyone joins in. Evidently most of the audience paid better attention to the tv ads than I did. Because when it reached a part of the play that had been used in the ads, everyone joined in with the actors. Very funny to hear the entire theatre reciting the joke along with the actors!

It was on at CentreStage, a theatre which is located where a drive-in cinema used to be. I used to love going to drive-ins, why have they all shut? I remember being taken to the one at Harbour View as a kid and thinking it was the best treat ever. You had the sea beside you, the cool breeze around you (so much nicer than air conditioning), and everything just felt more real when you were there.

And then when you grew up, there were lots more delights of a drive in. The only thing is that I must have lost my memory for a while as while I can remember driving there in my late teens, I can’t remember any of the films I saw there in that period. I can remember ones from my childhood, but not from those years. I wonder why.

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

How to pose Monday needs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mad Bull  |  September 19, 2005 at 9:49 pm

    Confession is good for the soul, thay do say… 😉 Anyway, as people get older, they begin to suffer from what my learned Doctor bredrin refers to as CRAFT. It means “Can’t remember a F_c_ing thing!”. Maybe that explains it.

    You know, thats almost a pun… no… maybe…. what do you think?

    Reply
  • 2. Gela's Words  |  July 8, 2006 at 3:54 am

    It’s so interesting to read about every day things/activities in Ja from the point of view of someone who hasn’t been away awhile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2005
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

