Trip to foreign

September 10, 2005 at 11:33 am 4 comments


Friday night, after fish, we had to finish off a girls evening in the right way… with ice cream. So we decided to head to the brand, spanking new Hargen Daz shop. We drove into the brand, spanking new shopping complex where is it and headed into the shop.

Or should I say, headed into foreign.

Hmmm, I knew I hadn’t used my passport, but still – we were experiencing culture shock.

The music on the radio was Maroon 5. I have nothing again Maroon 5, in fact I kinda like them. However, how many shops do you go into in Jamaica and hear them? No other ones as far as I know.

Then we looked around the room. Well, let’s put it this way. Everyone in there looked like the kind of person who would be lying in the sun on the beach – rather than hiding in the shade. Didn’t know there were that many people in Jamaica who looked like that outside of the tourist resorts!

And the final sign that we were in foreign… we approach the checkout. We already knew the prices were steep – but then they added tax! Normally at ice cream places this is included in the advertised price – but not here!

But the ice cream was gooooood…

So I will save up and return, but will carry my passport next time in case they remember to check at the gate before we are allowed to enter foreign.

Entry filed under: I haven't got round to sorting these yet!.

Friday night Bouncy castles

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr Darryl Chew  |  September 12, 2005 at 9:45 am

    A new blog: The Enterprise Mac
    Best of the blogs: Tom Yager has a new blog, The Enterprise Mac , which he translates as “anything related to Apple that is of interest to grown-ups with jobs.” In his first post, he goes on to explain that …
    An interesting Blog you have indeed! I will definitely bookmark your Blog!

    I have a wellness monitor site/blog. It pretty much covers wellness monitor related stuff.

    Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  September 15, 2005 at 10:23 pm

    So… I left Jamaica a bit over a year ago, so I don’t know where the Haagen Dazs is… where is it? Also, I suspect that the comment above is spam. Investigate the word verification feature on blogger. It will cut down drastically / eliminate spam comments…

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  September 16, 2005 at 9:37 am

    the haagen daz shop is on barbican – they’ve built a big new plaza (monarch pharmacy, supermarket etc) there

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  September 16, 2005 at 10:36 pm

    Ok, there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2005
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

